Call for Nominations

The Department of Statistics at Texas A&M University Invites Nominations for the Emanuel and Carol Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation


To promote the dissemination of statistical innovation, the Emanuel and Carol Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation is awarded in even numbered years to a North American statistician whose outstanding research contributions include innovations that have had impact on practice and whose Ph.D. degree is at least 25 years old.


The Parzen Prize is awarded by the Department of Statistics at Texas A&M University and is selected by the members of the Parzen Prize Committee (consisting of three internal faculty members and two external faculty members). The prize consists of an honorarium of $1000 and travel to College Station, TX, to present a lecture at the Prize Ceremony.


Nominations for the 2016 Parzen Prize should include a letter describing the nominee’s outstanding contributions to high impact innovative research in statistics, a current curriculum vita, and two supporting letters. Nominations should be submitted by August 15, 2016 to the Chair of the 2016 Parzen Prize Committee:

Professor Thomas Wehrly
Department of Statistics
Texas A&M University
TAMU 3143
College Station Texas 77843-3143.


Previous Parzen Prize Winners:

1994    Grace Wahba, University of Wisconsin

1996    Donald P. Rubin, Harvard University

1998    Bradley Efron, Stanford University

2000    C.R. Rao, Pennsylvania State University

2002    David R. Brillinger, University of California, Berkeley

2004    Jerome H. Friedman, Stanford University

2006    Alan Gelfand, Duke University

2008    Nancy Reid, University of Toronto , Marvin Zelen, Harvard University

2010    Roger Koenker, University of Illinois

2012    Adrian Raftery, University of Washington

2014    Trevor Hastie, Stanford University


For more information on the Parzen Prize, please visit our website at